April 25, 2018


Project Co-operation!

It has been a milestone for Dartford Science and Technology College this week; they have become part of a co-operative trust. Therefore, they decided to celebrate this via a launch day consisting of fun, team-building activities for the younger years and an open afternoon for co-operative members and parents. Students from year 7 and 9 participated in team-building activities run by a select group of sixth form sport leaders – this allowed them to improve their sense of solidarity in a fun, healthy way. In addition, year 7s had the opportunity to pull a tractor – this allowed them to gain team-work skills and strategise co-operatively and resiliently in order to be able to perform the task in hand.

216 193 157 119

To read the rest of this article, please click the link below.
Co-operative Launch Day

What is a Trust?

Our ambition is to achieve excellence by working as part of a formal collaborative group. This will enable the school to maintain its own character, ethos and expertise while gaining additional strengths by working in partnership.

Our intention is to bring about improved outcomes for our pupils, enhance the effectiveness of our professionals and to deliver a broader range of opportunities for pupils, staff, parents and other stakeholders to contribute to successful local education services.


What is a Co-operative Trust School?

The Co-operative School Trust model enables schools to set themselves up as co-operatives, following co-operative values and principles. Co-operatives are based on the values of self-help, self-responsibility, democracy, equality, equity and solidarity. In the tradition of their founders, co-operative members believe in their ethical values of honesty, openness, social responsibility, and caring for others.

All co-operatives develop their work based on these core values.

Who are the partners?

Anne Davis – Anne Davis is the Principal of Dartford Science and Technology College. Anne started her career in Welling teaching Maths at the school she once went to. She moved on for promotion at Townley Grammar School for Girls and then spent three years there before moving to Dubai to work at a girls’ school in this fast developing country. After a further three years, Anne took up a Head of Maths post at Longfield Upper School, which then became Axton Chase School. Here she moved through the ranks, still teaching Maths but becoming a Senior Leader and eventually Deputy Head. Once the school became part of The Leigh Academy Trust, Anne was a founding Principal of the Matisse College within the newly formed Longfield Academy. She joined DSTC in September 2016 after 7 years as Principal at Longfield.

Anne’s interests include – swimming, cycling and boot camp style training and enjoys reading and going on long walks with friends.

David Edwards –   David was one of the founding Directors of the Trust and represents the interests of the School as the Chair of the Governing Body a role which he has held since September 2011. He has a keen personal interest in pupil progress as well as maths and science and ensuring that the school embraces the values at the centre of the co-operative thinking. He lives locally and has held various roles in local government including at Kent County Council, Bexley London Borough and at a Director level at Maidstone Borough Council. He recently established his own business supporting organisations and individuals to improve their services and outcomes and is also a keen sportsman.

Dr Ajay Sharman – Dr Sharman is currently Regional Manager and Lead for the newly merged STEM Learning Ltd organisation, for London & South East. Dr Sharman manages the key STEM Ambassadors and STEM Clubs programmes across London & South East, working alongside the highly-rated STEM inspiration and teacher support already offered by STEM Learning, providing those who work with young people in STEM subjects and activities, with the support they need all in one place. The new merged organization will continue to ensure all young people have a positive attitude to Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM), so that they are more likely to choose STEM careers in the future.

Previously Dr Sharman was Technical Director of Viridian, commercialising solutions for treatment of contaminated air, land and water, winning Kent Business Innovation and Environmental Awards. Dr Sharman then joined an FMCG, Reckitt Benckiser, as Global Technology Manager, in Household Cleaning and Healthcare, specialising in Biologics. This was followed, by a Commercial Technology role at Oxford, before supporting and leading on SEEDA’s STEM skills agenda before moving to STEMNET. Dr Sharman has been Chair of Governors at Parkside Community School in Canterbury for over 4 years, overseeing two Ofsted inspections.  Dr Sharman is a passionate sportsman, playing squash, golf and football in his spare time.

Tony Smith – Tony Smith was educated at the Gilberd School, Colchester, and the University of Hull, later gaining an MA in Education at the University of Greenwich. He began his teaching career at a boys’ secondary modern school in Clacton-on-Sea and went on to work in three Essex comprehensive schools, two as Head of English, and one as Deputy Head. For 23 years he was Head of Dartford Grammar School, which had high community involvement, for example in its development of joint-use facilities for sport and the arts.

Since retiring in 2009, he has worked as a consultant and a Senior Secondary Improvement Adviser for the Kent County Council.

Susan Acott (Chair) – Susan is Chief Executive of Dartford & Gravesham NHS Trust which runs the Darent Valley Hospital in Dartford.

Susan started her career from the NHS’s General Management Training Scheme, having graduated from Birmingham University. She has long standing experience in the NHS and has worked in a variety of posts in Manchester, Merseyside, York and London. Her Board level experience includes Operational, Strategic, Performance and Transformation portfolios.  Susan is passionate about the role of clinical leadership and education in delivering and sustaining high quality, safe services for patients. She has had considerable experience of service improvement, service reorganisation, mergers and operational delivery.  Susan has been CEO in Dartford since April 2010.

Lorraine Smith – University of Greenwich, Programme Leader for Secondary and Lifelong Learning Teacher Education.

After completing my PGCE at Durham University, I worked in Toyohashi, Japan for a couple of years teaching English to a wide age range of learners and in different contexts. After returning to the UK I completed my induction as a secondary science teacher in Buckinghamshire. At this time I progressed to subject leader and head of department roles. Since completing my EdD I moved into higher education at the University of Greenwich as the science subject leader then the programme leader for secondary and lifelong learning teacher education where my experience of secondary education and working with other age ranges in other contexts have been beneficial